Town Council

The Town is governed by five Council members: President, Vice President, Secretary and two Council Members. The Council meetings are held every month on the first Wednesday at 7:00 P.M. and third Wednesday at 7:00 P.M. at the Town Hall, located at 42 E. Main Street.  All of these meetings are open to the public.


Town Council Responsibilities

  • Attend all Town meetings 1st and 3rd Wednesday of the Month
  • President is equal to the Town Executive.
  • General powers are given and governed by the State of Indiana Code Methods through which the powers are exercised by local ordinance.
  • They are the Legislative Branch
  • Authorize all financials
  • Authority and power to pass all ordinances
    • Rules and Regulations
    • Fines and Fees
  • Approve and pass all annexations
  • Appoint the Town Marshal and Town Manager
  • Final approval on recommendations from the Planning Commission
  • Appoint members of
    • Planning Commission
    • Board of Zoning Appeals Redevelopment Commission
    • Economic Development Committee
    • Technical Committee
    • All Representatives for Steering Committees
  • Attend Municipal conferences, meetings and keep abreast of Hancock County Economic Development Commission and Hancock Area Rural Transit Agency, which is a part of services in Town
  • Must reside within the Town limits